Published On: 20/10/2023|730 words|3.7 min read|

What is a CSCS card?

The Construction Skills Certification Scheme (CSCS) is a certification that allows individuals to work on a construction site. A CSCS Card allows workers to demonstrate their construction knowledge and skills in the construction sector.

CSCS is the leading skills certification scheme within the UK construction industry. CSCS cards provide proof that individuals working on construction sites have the appropriate safety training. By ensuring the workforce is qualified, the card plays its part in improving standards and safety on UK construction projects.

Job roles like civil engineers, site managers, or construction labourers use the certification. You can use the CSCS Card finder to see which certification you need.

Most employers require the certification, but it is not a legal requirement. It stands as the construction management industry’s most widely recognised proof of on-site proficiency.

How much is a CSCS card?

All CSCS cards cost £36. In addition, you must also pay £22.50 for a CITB course to be eligible for the CSCS card. Training centres and third parties may add extra costs, so please note this and be cautious of these standardised prices.

How long does a CSCS card last?

There are many types of different CSCS card but most last for 5 years. CSCS card renewal is a simple process. You can renew your card six months before the expiry. Therefore, be sure to remember to renew your card to avoid complications.

How to apply for a CSCS card?

The CSCS card application is very simple. It is compulsory for all applications to complete and pass the CITB Health, Safety and Environment (HSE) test. This course shows employers that you can be safe on the job.

There are three different CITB training courses. You will have to complete a different course depending on which card you need. The CITB course covers a wide variety of topics including a health and safety course.

The test is 45 minutes and will consist of 50 multiple-choice questions regarding safety in the construction industry. There are several CITB test centres around the UK to take your course.

Types of CSCS Card

There are several types of CSCS cards. To distinguish between card types, a colour coding system is used. Some examples of the colour system include green, blue, gold, red, yellow, white, black, and silver.

Green and Blue are the most common card colours, as they cover all entry-level and ‘skilled worker’ roles. People use the red cards for temporary certification, often for work experience in apprenticeships. A Gold card is for workers who have completed a construction-related NVQ or SVQ Level 3. Management roles, project management roles, or site manager roles reserve the black card.

How to get a Green CSCS Card

We are often asked by learners on how to get a CSCS card. The CSCS green card is the entry-level card for every construction worker. The card is also known as the ‘labourer card’. To get the labourer card, you need to have completed a CITB health and safety test in the past two years. In addition, you must have:

  • The NOCN/CSkills awards construction health and safety unit
  • A CSCS-approved alternative.
  • A SCQF level 5 REHIS elementary health and safety certificate
  • An RQF level 1 or an SCQF level 4 award in health and safety in a construction environment

After completing our Construction course, students will get a free Green CSCS test. Once you pass, you will receive your card along with your other certificates.

Blue CSCS card

People know the blue CSCS card as the ‘skilled worker card.’ To get the blue CSCS card, you need a construction NVQ or SVQ level 2. You also need to pass the CITB test at the required level within the past two years to apply. The card is valid for up to 5 years.

Can I get a Blue CSCS Card without an NVQ?

You can get a blue CSCS card without an NVQ by taking the more practical based option. This involves completing an apprenticeship. For example, an employer sponsored apprenticeship through a local college or school.

In addition, you could receive a City and Guilds of London Institute Craft Certificate, the professional body. This is a vocational certification providing training on a variety of relevant and necessary skills.

Enroll in our Level 1 Construction Course now to get your free CSCS card and start your career in the industry. Click here to get started!

Read More Articles